I heart spray paint

Standard

I like yard sales. There. I said it. I don’t care if the stuff isn’t new, so long as it’s awesome and costs like 25 cents. I found a rummage sale last Friday that was a real winner. For a grand total of $3.70, I purchased the following:

3 baskets, a set of 3 small mataching flower pots, a (only partially used) roll of striped wrapping paper, 2 large glass vases and 1 small glass vase, a big old stack of pretty notecards, and January’s issue of Food & Wine magazine.

I’ve got big terrarium plans for the largest glass vase (check out my garden pinboard here) and I definately knew I wanted the brighten up the baskets. At whopping 25 cents a piece, there wasn’t much to lose.

I raided the paint shelf in the basement and found a can of high gloss bright red spray paint. Win! Ready to turn this plain jane basket into a looker.

One note: always spray paint stuff outside, even if your rather handy father tells you it’s ok to spray paint your ridiculously heavy radiator inside, because you will inevitably get spray paint residue on your hardwood floors and will perform frantic “how to get spray paint off of hardwood floors” Google searches until you discover that acetone does indeed work, so you take a big sigh of relief because your husband isn’t going to kill you. Not that this has ever happened to me.

I applied 3 light coats of spray paint over all surfaces of the basket, letting the paint dry completely between each application. Then, I let the basket cure in the sun so it wouldn’t stick to anything. BAM! It’s like a brand new basket. As evidenced in the photo below, puppies are rather suspicious of the newly painted basket.

Wouldn’t this be the best thing to make up a little gift basket for a friend (or for mom) in? A bottle of wine and some chocolates (I highly recommend the chocolate filled figs). Or maybe a bath theme with some homemade bath fizzies and salt or sugar scrubs?

Cheers,

Christine

One response »

  1. Pingback: Violet Terrarium Tutorial « all in good spirits

Leave a Reply

