Bacon Brown Sugar Wrapped Weenies

Standard

What si the number one tried and true way to make any appetizer more awesome? Wrap it in bacon.

Make this for any party and your guests will not be disappointed. If they are having difficulty deciding whether or not to partake of this appetizer from the gods, have them refer to the handy flowchart below.

With about 20 minutes hands on time, you can whip up a batch of these guys for a party, the big game, or just a night in.

When you cook the bacon, make sure you undercook it a bit. Otherwise it’s nearly impossible to wrap around the weenies without breaking into little pieces. I used about one piece of bacon for each 6 weenies, but you could certainly use one piece for every 4 weenies if you are a true bacon warrior.

  

Once you wrap each weenie with your preferred quantity of bacon and secure with a toothpick, you’ll top each with a pinch of brown sugar to give them caramelized sweet/salty goodness. Pop ’em in the oven to bake, flipping halfway through (if you don’t flip them, the sugar doesn’t melt). I would highly recommend covering your baking sheet with aluminum foil to prevent a sticky mess. Check out my muffin tin filling tip here to see my suggestion on what you should do with all the extra time you don’t have to spend scrubbing the baking sheet.

  

Ingredients

  • One 14 oz package mini hotdogs or lil’ smokies
  • 8-10 slices bacon
  • Several tablespoons brown sugar
  • 40-50 toothpicks

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook bacon in a skillet until partially done, but still flexible. Do not cook until crispy. Cut each slice of bacon into 4 or 6 pieces, as desired. (First cut the strip in half long ways, then cut into thirds or halves again.)

Wrap each weenie with a piece of bacon the secure with a toothpick. Put prepared weenies on a foil covered baking sheet then top each with a small pinch of brown sugar.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, flipping the weenies halfway. Serve hot. Makes about 45.

Cheers,

Christine

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 1: Dublin to Waterford « all in good spirits

  2. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for rookie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Haha-I am a rookie blog writer! I wish I had the time to post more, it just takes so long to put together a good post with all the photos and everything and remembering to take pictures throughout whatever it is that you’re doing. I guess when it gets down to it, after I get home from work and I am feeling motivated and I have to choose between writing a post and actually DOING something that would make a good post, I seem to err to the side of doing something. I think I’m going to try to set aside time to post twice a week.

      Check out http://www.younghouselove.com-they have a lot of excellent blogging advice on their site. How fun would it be to be able to devote your whole day to it?!

      Cheers,
      Christine

Leave a Reply

